Welcome to
Horton St. Michael's First School and Nursery

Welcome to Horton St Michael's.  We are a caring creative, and forward-thinking school set in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside near to Rudyard Lake.  Our school offers children the best possible start to their education; we are driven by a desire to create an atmosphere where children are inspired to want to learn, not just for now but for the rest of their lives.

As a Church of England school we emphasise traditional Christian values and believe that these help  to prepare children to be good citizens in God's ever-changing world.  

One of the successes of Horton has been the availability of outdoor education. With our Forest School practitioners and an impressive woodland, it is not unusual to see children being taught the art of den making, weaving willow, using sharp tools and heating their hot chocolate over fires which they have laid. Our three classrooms also have outdoor creative areas; the woodland contains an amphitheatre, a bird-hide, wild spaces and reflective areas.

We view education as a joint venture involving everyone: children, parents, staff, governors and the wider community. Within school our success is based on teamwork, fun, personalised learning, hard work and collaboration. We look forward to welcoming you to our happy, safe and exciting school in the near future.

Lesley  Montgomery

Headteacher

 

Our Nursery

An exciting new adventure for our school started in September 2016 as we opened our new nursery provision for children aged 3-4 years.   This new venture will allow us to extend our high quality teaching and learning to the younger children in the local community.  Our experienced staff offer play based, child-led  learning with lots of opportunities to learn outdoors.  Our early years curriculum has been developed to allow each child to follow their own interests and learn at a pace which suits their needs.   If you  would like more information please contact the school office and we would be delighted welcome you and your child for a visit.

 

ABOUT US
discover more
OUR NURSERY
discover more
Latest News See all news
17 Jan Sycamore Class Perform at the Regent Theatre   Congratulations to Sycamore Class who performed at the Regent Theatre Dance 019 Festival to critical acclaim: “Horton St Michael’s CE First School came next with the vibrant and colourful Rainbow Of Hope routine, per... read more
See All Events

August 2019

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
+

Thursday 1st August

Summer Holidays

2
+

Friday 2nd August

Summer Holidays

3
+

Saturday 3rd August

Summer Holidays

4
+

Sunday 4th August

Summer Holidays

5
+

Monday 5th August

Summer Holidays

6
+

Tuesday 6th August

Summer Holidays

7
+

Wednesday 7th August

Summer Holidays

8
+

Thursday 8th August

Summer Holidays

9
+

Friday 9th August

Summer Holidays

10
+

Saturday 10th August

Summer Holidays

11
+

Sunday 11th August

Summer Holidays

12
+

Monday 12th August

Summer Holidays

13
+

Tuesday 13th August

Summer Holidays

14
+

Wednesday 14th August

Summer Holidays

15
+

Thursday 15th August

Summer Holidays

16
+

Friday 16th August

Summer Holidays

17
+

Saturday 17th August

Summer Holidays

18
+

Sunday 18th August

Summer Holidays

19
+

Monday 19th August

Summer Holidays

20
+

Tuesday 20th August

Summer Holidays

21
+

Wednesday 21st August

Summer Holidays

22
+

Thursday 22nd August

Summer Holidays

23
+

Friday 23rd August

Summer Holidays

24
+

Saturday 24th August

Summer Holidays

25
+

Sunday 25th August

Summer Holidays

26
+

Monday 26th August

Summer Holidays

27
+

Tuesday 27th August

Summer Holidays

28
+

Wednesday 28th August

Summer Holidays

29
+

Thursday 29th August

Summer Holidays

30
+

Friday 30th August

Summer Holidays

31
+

Saturday 31st August

Summer Holidays

WE ARE PROUD TO BE A PART OF SUA TRUST

SUAT supports and leads in the set-up of new academies joining the partnership.  The services provided by the central support function cover both educational and non-educational support.  In terms of educational support, SUAT is linked to the School of Education of Staffordshire University, which is an outstanding ITT provider.

Join the Trust